The Fiction of Owen Thomas

Praise for The Lion Trees

The Lion Trees
Kindle Winner Award

AMAZON KINDLE BOOK AWARD

WINNER
Global eBook Award

GLOBAL EBOOK AWARDS

First Place Gold Medalist for New Adult Fiction
B&A 2015 Book of the Year Award Badge

BOOK AND AUTHOR.COM BOOK AWARDS

Winner 2015 Book of the Year
Eric Hoffer Award Seal 2015

THE ERIC HOFFER BOOK AWARD

Winner: Honorable Mention Award
First Horizon Finalist Seal 2015

FIRST HORIZON BOOK AWARD

Finalist

BEVERLY HILLS INTERNATIONAL BOOK AWARDS

Finalist
London

LONDON BOOK FESTIVAL

Honorable Mention
Southern California Book Festival

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA BOOK FESTIVAL

Honorable Mention
Midwest Book Festival

GREAT MIDWEST BOOK FESTIVAL

Honorable Mention
Los Angeles Book Festival Honorable Mention

LOS ANGELES BOOK FESTIVAL

Honorable Mention
Great Southwest Book Festival

GREAT SOUTHEAST BOOK FESTIVAL

Honorable Mention
Pacific Rim Book Festival

PACIFIC RIM BOOK FESTIVAL

Honorable Mention
Amsterdam

AMSTERDAM BOOK FESTIVAL

Honorable Mention
New York Book Festival

THE NEW YORK BOOK FESTIVAL

Honorable Mention
Hollywood Book Festival

THE HOLLYWOOD BOOK FESTIVAL

Honorable Mention

Table of Honor

Internationally Accredited Writing Competitions

Kirkus Reviews:

“[A] cerebral page turner…a powerful and promising debut.”

Alaska Library Association:

“The Lion Trees has the all hallmarks of a modern classic.”

The Eric Hoffer Book Award:

“A sweeping literary saga in the tradition of Dr. Zhivago, Gone with the Wind, and The Thorn Birds, this book has it all, including scandal, aspiration, treachery, and reinvention. Thomas’ fiction has a fresh feel—original and stirring—delivering a tale of monumental family dysfunction, which captures interest through numerous plot shifts, quickly alternate between poignant and humorous. By turns exhilarating and exhausting, Thomas creates compelling, rich characters. The ending is just as satisfying as the beginning. At 2,000 pages, the scope of the project alone is admirable.”

The US Review of Books:

Five stars“Owen Thomas’ Lion Trees… can be anointed any number of superlatives to showcase its brilliance; highly addictive, spectacular, and mind blowing will have to suffice. Thomas is a wizard of fiction, and his novel a captivating gem that engulfs the reader from the beginning. Whether it’s the reliability factor, exhilarating plot arcs, or the deep allegiances built with the characters, this novel is brought to life in the readers’ mind…. What makes this story a literary juggernaut is the fluidity of the prose and the impeccable pacing of the novel. Thomas gives readers just enough of each character’s perspective, and as that carrot is dangling seemingly within reach, he switches gears. Don’t let the length of the book deceive; there is never a dull moment, and the pages just seem to turn themselves. Ultimately, The Lion Trees is life personified. No man is either good or bad, but rather a tantalizing fusion of the two that makes life worth living.”

The Anchorage Press:

Five stars“Every now and then, seemingly out of nowhere, a new voice comes along and knocks your socks off. Owen Thomas owns that voice.
. . . .
Intoxicated by his prose, you gorge upon chunks of passages and while awestruck by the language’s majesty two discordant thoughts course through your brain: why is the book so long and then, superseding that sentiment, please don’t let it end. It is not often that a book like The Lion Trees graces our lives. Yes, making the commitment to engage in such a lengthy tome can be daunting. Here’s my response, throw caution to the wind, make this book your summer indulgence—it will be a vacation you’ll never forget.”

Book Ideas Reviews:

Four stars “In its structure and nature, [The Lion Trees] reminds me above all of John Updike’s wonderful Harry Rabbit novels and their ability to summarize the essence of change in American society across a decade at a time.”

Pacific Book Reviews:

Five stars “I loved The Lion Trees - and you will too. This is a powerful, gripping and realistic story. Once, a few decades ago, many authors would set out to write “The Great American Novel,” hoping to tap into whatever it is which makes the US and its people so unique and hopeful, particularly at a set point in time. The Grapes of Wrath comes to mind as such a novel. These days it doesn’t seem like anyone tries to write those kind of seminal novels anymore… until now. I don’t know that The Lion Trees will be held in this regard by others, but it certainly struck a nerve with me and I hope one day it comes to be considered a “Great American Novel.” The story is lengthy … but never dull. Don’t be intimated by the length. The novel is worth every minute you spend wrapped inside its world.

This is a wonderful, well thought out, well written tale, worth every minute, every hour, and every day that you spend in it. Mr. Thomas’ style is straightforward and easy (even with the various dialects he employs perfectly). He uses simple, detail-oriented diction, creating a wonderful base on which to build such a story. The Lion Trees does what so very few great novels can: it will take a lot out of you, but leave you with much more than you had when you began.”

Readers’ Favorite Book Reviews:

Five stars “This is the sort of novel which a light fiction reader might put down after the first dozen pages, and I’m here to implore that you don’t. Once you get used to the time-hopping, perspective-switching style of Owen Thomas’ deep and beautiful prose, the story of the Johns family flutters like a paper bag in the breeze that you can’t stop watching. Unpredictable, philosophical and deeply, intrinsically human, The Lion Trees explores a lengthy gamut of powerful emotional depths, asking important questions about life which we readers, like the Johns family, so often forget to stop and ponder. A superb and high quality literary drama.”

Moterwriter.com:

Four stars“By the time you are done with The Lion Trees, you [will] have forgotten all about the length and will realize what an amazingly entertaining piece of literature it was and do I dare say it, a serious novel that provides you with some genuine laugh out loud moments. ... The Lion Trees depicts people who can’t be slotted as just saints or monsters, they fall somewhere in between, just like any of us. Owen Thomas’s writing leaves you richer with emotions and contentment even before the ending arrives. If there is only one book that you are going to read this year, make it The Lion Trees.

Literary Litter.com:

Five stars “I’ve been an avid reader for well over thirty-five years. I’ve been a reviewer for over a dozen. I’ve been bombarded by today’s cookie cutter story assembly and I despise it. There are times when I just don’t think I can take another pre-fab book. Then, someone like Owen Thomas comes along and reminds me what the book world CAN offer, what a story CAN be. It reminds me of the reason I fell in love with reading in the first place and what a magical world the art of storytelling is…. If I were going to write a book myself, I would want it to be something that changed the world of the person holding it, and this book does that exceedingly well.

….

[T]his was an astounding read for me. Not only was the story telling mesmerizing, but Owen’s writing style is inspiring. His writing is seamless and flawless and makes me yearn for more.

After reading both of these books, I’ve nominated [The Lion Trees] for Book of the Year Awards, I truly believe this is the best story that I’ve read this year, actually in a long time. This is what fiction and novels were initially created to be. It’s not only beautifully crafted, but it becomes a part of you.”

Signs of Passing

 

Signs of Passing Cover

Accolades for Signs of Passing

PACIFIC BOOK AWARDS

WINNER

 

Pacific Book Review Award Badge

INDIE READER DISCOVERY AWARDS

WINNER

 

IRDA Winner Badge

GREAT SOUTHWEST BOOK FESTIVAL

WINNER

 

Great Southwest Badge

NEW YORK BOOK FESTIVAL

RUNNER-UP

GREAT MIDWEST BOOK FESTIVAL

RUNNER-UP
Great Midwest

PACIFIC RIM BOOK FESTIVAL

RUNNER-UP
Pacific RIm Badge

GREAT SOUTHEAST BOOK FESTIVAL

RUNNER-UP
Great Southeast Badge

AMSTERDAM BOOK FESTIVAL

RUNNER-UP
Amsterdam Runner Up

SHELF UNBOUND MAGAZINE

ONE OF THE 100 MOST NOTABLE BOOKS OF 2015
SHELF UNBOUND

LONDON BOOK FESTIVAL

HONORABLE MENTION
London Book Festival Badge

GREAT NORTHWEST BOOK FESTIVAL

HONORABLE MENTION
Great Northwest Badge

NEW ENGLAND BOOK FESTIVAL

HONORABLE MENTION
New England Book Festival Badge

LOS ANGELES BOOK FESTIVAL

HONORABLE MENTION
Los Angeles Book Festival Honorable Mention

SAN FRANCISCO BOOK FESTIVAL

HONORABLE MENTION
San Fran Book Festival

PARIS BOOK FESTIVAL

HONORABLE MENTION
Paris Runner Up

INDIE READER

4.5 STARS!  “Thomas’ fully-realized characters are what make SIGNS OF PASSING a truly enjoyable work of fiction. ... SIGNS OF PASSING is a thoughtful and evocative collection of short stories full of memorable characters.”
Indie Reader Badge

 

 

About the Author and Author Interviews

Novels

Short Stories

Novellas

Major Fake Interviews

Fiction Blog

     — Henry & Biggs

     — Tiny Points of Life

     — The Menagerie

1000 Words per Frame

Links

Contact